您的孩子是否长期处于不良情绪中,或者在经历了令人不安的事件后情绪失控?事故、与朋友和兄弟姐妹打架、成绩不好、同伴压力、欺凌和父母冲突可能都是成长的一部分。孩子的情绪恢复能力决定了他如何应对令人沮丧的事件并从中恢复过来,并影响他的人生观和整体心理健康。

什么是韧性?

复原力是指承受因令人不安和创伤的情况和事件而产生的压力和感受并从中恢复的能力。

为什么增强韧性很重要?

烦恼、事故、受伤的情况和创伤都是生活中的事实。您可以尽最大努力保护自己,但不能保证您可以避免这种情况。当你的孩子更有弹性时,他就会更有勇气尝试新事物、体验新情况。他可以对世界保持好奇,并对自己的未来充满希望。如果你作为父母感到恐惧,你的孩子可能会表现为过度依赖和焦虑,或者表现为抵抗、控制和固执。

面对令人不安的情况,你能做什么?

  1. 保持冷静——深呼吸,直到您不再感到触动和反应,然后再帮助您的孩子。当您能够保持冷静时,您将更有能力了解您的孩子需要什么以及您需要什么。
  2. 向他表明你同意他的感受:承认、验证、反思并进一步验证。跟着他的感觉走。在他感觉好一些之前,他必须感觉到你同意他的这种感觉。当你这样做时,他会感受到你的支持,并且更能够成功地反弹。
  3. 模拟不舒服的感觉来来去去:你可以与你的孩子分享你有过的类似经历,以及你如何知道这种感觉是什么,并向他展示你已经知道如何成功地度过它。
  4. 情绪不安的时刻并不是分析您的孩子是否应该受到责备以及后果应该是什么的好时机。等到大家都平静下来。当孩子感到情绪不知所措时,他的大脑思考能力就不会那么好用了。他无法理解你的重要逻辑解释。
  5. 最后但并非最不重要的一点是,无论如何,希望您的孩子能够健康、快乐、过上充实的生活。与这个希望保持联系,并将其保留在你的育儿能量场中。

请继续关注下周的帖子,我将详细介绍并提供有关如何支持您的孩子发展情感智慧的提示。订阅我的时事通讯,了解培养孩子情感智慧的技巧。如果您有任何问题或意见,请发送电子邮件至 yeh.wendy@gmail.com。祝你感恩节过得愉快!

zh_CN简体中文
分享这个

Does your child stay stuck in a bad mood for a long time or spiral out of control after an upsetting event? Accidents, fighting with friends and siblings, getting bad grades, peer pressure, bullying, and parental conflicts may all be part of growing up. Your child’s emotional resilience determines how he weathers and bounces back from upsetting events and affects his outlook on life and overall mental wellness.

What is Resilience?

Resilience is the ability to withstand and bounce back from stress and feelings that arise from upsetting and traumatic situation and events.

Why is Increasing Resilience Important?

Upsets, accidents, hurtful situations, and trauma are facts of life. You can do the best to protect yourself but there is no guarantee you can avoid it. When your child is more resilient, he will have more courage to try new things and experience new situations. He can remain curious to the world and hopeful about his future. If you are fearful as a parent, it might show up in your child as overly-dependent and anxiousness, or as resistance, controlling, and stubbornness.

What can you do about it upsetting situations?

  1. Stay calm – breathe deeply until you don’t feel triggered and reactive before you help your child. When you can stay calm, you will be more capable of seeing what your child needs vs. what you need.
  2. Show him that you’re okay with him feeling the way he does: acknowledge, validate, reflect, and validate some more. Stay with his feeling. Before he can feel better, he has to feel that you’re okay with him feeling this way. When you do, he will feel your support and will be more able to bounce back successfully.
  3. Model that uncomfortable feelings come and go: You can share with your child a similar experience that you had and how you know what the feeling is and show him that you figured out how to successfully move through it.
  4. The moment of emotional upset isn’t a good place to analyze whether your child was to blame and what the consequence should be. Wait until everyone has calmed down. A child’s thinking brain isn’t working so great when he’s feeling emotionally overwhelmed. He can’t process significant logical explanation on your part.
  5. Last but not the least, no matter what, hold the hope that your child will be healthy, happy, and live a fulfilled life. Stay connected to that hope and hold it in your parenting energetic field.

Stay tuned for next week’s post where I get into more detail and provide tips on how to support your child in developing emotional wisdom. Sign up for my newsletter for tips on building emotional wisdom in your children.  If you have any questions or comments, please email me at yeh.wendy@gmail.com. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Share This