在说出 D(离婚)一词之前您应该考虑什么?

离婚并不是解决婚姻问题的简单方法。离婚很混乱。很多时候,尤其是有孩子的情况下,离婚后问题仍然存在。考虑这个问题时需要考虑以下几点:

  1. 你做了你的研究吗? 了解您在财务、配偶赡养费、子女监护权和抚养子女方面的权利和义务。那里有很多好书(参见 资源 关系下)和研讨会,教育您有关离婚的基本知识、法律要求以及共同抚养和离婚后继续生活的义务。如果您需要在您所在地区寻找好的研讨会或资源的指导,请联系当地的婚姻和家庭治疗师,或者如果您住在旧金山湾区,请联系我。对预算、生活安排、共同抚养问题、孩子的反应、约会以及社会关系和支持系统的变化进行深思熟虑,对离婚后的生活有一个现实的认识。
  2. 如果你离婚了,你和配偶之间的问题会消失吗?
    • 如果你没有孩子,问问自己,你遇到的问题是否是你的人际关系模式的一部分。评估一下你在婚姻中扮演的角色是什么,你准备好做出改变,以免重复同样的行为吗?让我澄清一下,如果您处于虐待或不健康的关系中,我并不主张您留下来。但从正常的关系紧张中学习和成长是很重要的。
    • 如果你有孩子,你认为如果你能随心所欲的话,养育你的孩子会更容易吗?除非父母之一被法庭证明不适合抚养孩子,否则请记住,在大多数情况下,您将不得不在时间和经济上分配抚养责任。当您的孩子与另一位父母在一起时,有些事情是您无法控制的。例如,如果另一位家长想带您的孩子去理发或打耳洞,您无能为力。你将不得不在教育、营养选择、医疗选择、甚至对电脑/手机使用的控制方面做出更多妥协。
  3. 你是在重复你的过去吗? 大多数夫妻都会陷入同样的争吵中,而且一遍又一遍地重复。当您每次都尝试以相同的方式解决问题但不起作用时,就该尝试不同的策略了。与治疗师交谈可能会帮助您想出其他解决问题的方法。
  4. 您对长期关系有现实的看法吗? 当我们人类对另一个人做出承诺的那一刻,那个人突然变得更烦人。尽管您可能会喜欢与同事和朋友少量相处,但如果您必须日复一日地与他们一起生活,他们可能看起来就不那么有吸引力了。在一段关系中可以发生很多个人成长和治愈,在长期忠诚的关系中解决棘手的问题是非常有益的。

当您仔细考虑自己的决定并为分居和离婚的过程做好准备时,您可以更加清晰地行事,限制冲突的数量并减少对孩子的伤害。有一些资源可以帮助您在痛苦和混乱的过程中尽可能顺利地过渡到单身或单亲家庭。如果您需要更多资源或帮助考虑离婚是否适合您的情况,请致电 650-397-1376 或发送电子邮件至 yeh.wendy@gmail.com。我很乐意帮助您做出适合您的决定。

zh_CN简体中文
分享这个

What should you consider before saying the D (divorce) word?

Divorce isn’t a simple solution that solves your marriage problems. Divorce is messy. Fairly often, especially if there are kids involved, the problems will still be there after the divorce. Here are something to think about when considering the question:

  1. Have you done your research? Find out what your rights and obligations are with regards to finance, spousal support, child custody, and childrearing. There are quite a few good books out there (see resource under relationship) and seminars that educate you on the basics of divorce from legal requirements and obligations to co-parenting and moving on after divorce. If you need pointers on finding good seminars or resources in your area, reach out to a local Marriage and Family Therapist or contact me if you live in SF Bay Area. Get a realistic view of what your life would be like after divorce with thoughtful considerations toward budgets, living arrangements, co-parenting issues, kids reactions, dating, and changes in your social relationship and support system.
  2. Is your problem with your spouse going to go away if you are divorced?
    • If you don’t have kids, ask yourself if the problem you’re experiencing is part of your relationship pattern. Evaluate what’s your part in getting to this place in your marriage and are you ready to make changes so you don’t repeat the same behaviors? Let me be clear that I’m not advocating for you to stay if you’re in an abusive or unhealthy relationship. But it is important to learn and grow from normal relationship strains.
    • If you have kids, do you imagine that parenting your kids would be easier if you can have your way? Unless one of the parents is proven to be unfit to parent by the court, remember that in most cases, you will have to split parenting duty in time and finance. There will be things that you will have no control over when your children are with their other parent.  For example, if the other parent wants to take your kids for a haircut or ear piercing, you can’t do much about it. You will have to make even more compromises on education, nutritional choices, medical choices, and even control of computer/cell phone usage.
  3. Are you repeating your past? Most couples are stuck with the same fights that just get rehashed over and over again. When you are trying to resolve your problems the same way every time and it isn’t working, it’s time to try a different strategy. Talking to a therapist might help you come up with other ways of solving issues.
  4. Do you have realistic views of long term relationship? The moment we humans commit to another person, that person suddenly becomes a lot more annoying. Although you might enjoy the company of your coworkers and friends in small doses, if you had to live with them day in and day out, they might not look so attractive.  A lot of personal growth and healing can happen in a relationship and it can be really rewarding to work through tough issues in a long term committed relationship.

When you have carefully thought out your decisions and prepared for the process of going through separation and divorce, you can act with more clarity and limit the amount of conflict and reduce damage to your children. There are resources out there to help you transition into single-hood or single-parenthood as smooth as possible in the otherwise painful and messy process. If you would like additional resources or help considering if divorce may be right for your situation, please call me at 650-397-1376 or email at yeh.wendy@gmail.com. I’d be glad to help you make decisions that are right for you.

en_USEnglish
zh_TW繁體中文 zh_CN简体中文 en_USEnglish
Share This