我在當今家庭中看到的最大衝突之一是屏幕時間。您是否對您的孩子在屏幕前花費了多少時間感到困擾,並且覺得您無法處理更多時間的持續糾纏?當然,他們會要求您提供更多的屏幕時間 - 這是保持娛樂的簡單方法。然而,如果它與你的價值觀不符,並且你的孩子缺乏自製力,你就會想要投入一些想法和行動。

但首先,讓我們看看你真正不喜歡它的什麼?列出您擔心的事情?

我將開始列出清單:

  1. 我擔心我的孩子成績會下降,成為人生的失敗者
  2. 我擔心他們會沉迷於電子遊戲以及其他更嚴重的惡習
  3. 我擔心當我把它拿走時他們的爆炸性反應
  4. ......(添加你的)

從這份擔憂清單中,想想你想要什麼?

  1. 我希望他們追求世俗的成功
  2. 我希望他們對一兩個健康的愛好充滿熱情
  3. 我希望他們出去和朋友們一起玩
  4. 我希望他們與我交談或註意到我或欣賞我
  5. 我希望他們參與家庭事務

首先我們什麼也不做。只要觀察他們使用屏幕的頻率以及在你不以任何方式嘮叨或限制他們的情況下他們做你想做的事情的頻率。我們觀察一周吧。別再嘮叨了……說真的!他們在屏幕、愛好、作為家庭成員的參與中實際上做了什麼?他們對家務做了多少貢獻?

在觀察的同時,還要觀察您和家庭中的其他成年成員在屏幕前進行的活動有多少。

觀察一周並在幾分鐘內收集清單上所有內容的數據後,問問自己您看到了什麼趨勢?您對所有家庭成員在每件物品上花費的時間有何看法?有什麼相關性嗎?你想要的和你真正做的之間是否存在不一致?

如果你所看到的還沒有讓你震驚,讓我們想想你可以做些什麼來培養和鼓勵你自己、你的配偶和你的孩子的這種行為?你做了什麼讓他們想要與你互動?您如何在家裡展現您的熱情,以便激發他們的熱情?你如何教他們做家務?說到家務,你是否把自己定位為僕人、中士或領導者來合作做家務?當家務不做時,他們會產生自然後果嗎?哪些領域容易產生自然後果?如果一個孩子需要食物,並且需要自己做飯,那麼他使用電腦的時間就會減少。如果你不明白他的動機是什麼,你就無法做出有意義的改變。

大多數人的動機是身體需求、情感需求(例如積極的同伴體驗、父母和朋友的尊重和認可)、追求興趣的智力需求。想想你的孩子,你的孩子的動機是什麼?你可以在哪些方面改變你管理房子和與他們互動的方式,讓他們自然地必須遠離屏幕來追隨他們的內在動機?

如果您需要有關如何在家中做出改變的想法,請致電或發送電子郵件給我,安排家長輔導預約,電話:650-397-1376,或發送電子郵件至 yeh.wendy@gmail.com.

本週,我談到了屏幕時間,但我也提到需要檢查我們的生活,看看我們想要什麼(我們的價值觀)與我們的行為/行動(我們如何對自己負責以及我們的養育行為)。在接下來的幾周里,我將更多地討論某些文化價值觀、我們的價值觀與行為的不一致,以及它如何影響溝通。

zh_TW繁體中文
分享這個

One of the biggest conflicts I see in today’s family is around screen time.  Do you have problems with how much time your kids are spending in front of the screen and feel like you can’t deal with the constant badgering for more time?   Sure, they will ask you for more screen time – it’s an easy way to keep entertained. However if it is not aligned with your value and your children lack self-control, you are going to want to put some thoughts and actions into it.

But first, let’s look at what you really dislike about it? Make a list of what worries you about it?

I’ll start the list:

  1. I’m worried that my kids’ grade would drop and be a total loser in life
  2. I’m worried that they’ll become addicted to video games and maybe other more serious vices
  3. I’m concerned with their explosive reaction when I take it away
  4. …..(add yours)

From that worry list, think about what you want instead?

  1. I want them to pursue worldly success
  2. I want them to develop passion in a healthy hobby or two
  3. I want them to go outside and play with friends
  4. I want them to talk with me or notice me or appreciate me
  5. I want them to be involved with the household

First let’s do nothing. Just observe how much they are using the screen vs. how much they are doing what you want when you don’t nag or limit them in anyway. Let’s observe for a week. No nagging… seriously! What do they actually do around screen, around hobby, around being engaged as a member of family, and how much do they contribute to housework?

While you’re observing, also observe how much are you and other adult members of the household are in front of screen and doing activities on that want list.

After observing for a week and collecting data in minutes of everything that’s on your list, ask yourself what trends do you see? How do you feel about the time spent on each item for all member of the household?  Any correlations? Is there any incongruence between what you want vs. what you’re really doing?

If what you see doesn’t yet give you a jolt, let’s think about what you can do to foster and encourage that behavior in yourself, your spouse, and your children?  What are you doing to make them want to engage you? How do you show your passions at home so you can inspire them to have their passion? How do you teach them to contribute to housework? Speaking of housework, have you set yourself up as a servant, sergeant, or a leader when it comes to collaborating on household work? Do they have natural consequences when chores are not done? What are the areas where it is easy to have natural consequences? If a kid needs food, and needs to make his own, he’s going have less time to be on computer.  You can’t make meaningful changes if you don’t understand what motivate him.

Most people are motivated by physical needs, emotional needs such as positive peer experience, respect and approval from their parents and friends, intellectual needs of pursuing their interests.  Think about your particular child, what is your child motivated by?  Where can you change in your ways of running the house and interacting with them so that they naturally have to be away from screen to follow their intrinsic motivation?

If you need ideas on how to make changes at home, please call or email me to setup an appointment for parent coaching at 650-397-1376 or by email at yeh.wendy@gmail.com.

This week, I talked about screen time but I also alluded to the need to examine our lives to look at what we want (our values) vs. our behaviors/actions (how we hold ourselves accountable and our parenting behavior).  Over the next few weeks I will talk more about certain cultural values, our values incongruence with behavior, and how it affects communications.

Share This