这是一个典型的周三下午。你去接孩子们,问你的小学生今天过得怎么样,他说“很好”。然后,只要他弟弟受到最小的挑衅,他就会开始尖叫并打人。你把注意力集中在他的尖叫和殴打上,并斥责他的攻击性行为,却没有意识到这是你孩子不寻常的过度反应。
后来你去检查你的孩子时,你发现他在午餐时间被排除在操场上。您的孩子还太小,无法从当天早些时候建立起联系并用语言表达他为什么不高兴。
也许你也度过了漫长的一天,无法真正倾听你儿子的心声,以及他的快速反应背后到底是什么在困扰着他。结果,你错过了帮助他理解被排斥的感觉是可怕的;你错过了告诉他孩子们经常因为担心和恐惧而被排除在外。他没有机会学习正确的渠道来缓解他之前在操场上的挫败感。他只知道,如果他表达愤怒,他会受到斥责,但也会受到关注。当长期受到误导时,他可能会在表达自己的需求时变得过于胆怯,或者当愤怒过度时会发脾气。

一切都还没有失去!教导孩子情绪调节需要时间,但结果是值得的。

情绪的目的是什么?

情绪是本能的。你生来就具备体验各种情绪的能力;从快乐到悲伤,从嬉戏到愤怒,从感恩到羞耻,从恐惧到勇敢;从厌恶到爱和欲望等等。幸福让人感觉良好,并激励我们去追求它。愤怒促使我们采取行动来应对受到的委屈。恐惧使我们远离潜在的危险。欲望驱使我们寻找潜在的伴侣。内疚告诉我们不要再重复因果行为。
您的孩子并不总是知道为什么他会有某种感觉、是什么原因造成的以及该怎么办。当父母或其他有爱心的成年人帮助他理解他的感受的原因、命名这些感受并协助制定适当的反应来引导这些感受时,你的孩子就会发展情感智慧并由此产生情绪调节。

监管并不意味着压制

调节意味着将情绪适当地引导到其有意义的目的。压抑是指通过严厉批评、羞辱行为或忽视来禁止表达感情。压抑的问题在于,感情是有目的的。愤怒促使我们追求自己的权利,嬉戏可以激励我们,感恩可以增强我们的相互联系。感觉帮助我们学会有目标地生活。

是什么导致情绪智慧不佳?

当经常错过协调时,您的孩子将很难发展情感智慧。此外,您的孩子还可能因为打了兄弟而知道自己是个“坏”孩子,因为他被“排除在外”而没有人喜欢他,因为没有人倾听和支持他而不受重视。这些负面信念开始削弱他的幸福感,影响他看待世界的视角,并进一步侵蚀未来的互动。

那么,作为父母,如何帮助孩子培养情感智慧以及由此产生的情感调节呢?

  1. 在做出反应之前,先调查并利用你的直觉来推测真正的原因。
  2. 帮助您的孩子理解为什么他有这种感觉。
  3. 体恤孩子的感受。
  4. 修复他因负面经历而可能产生的任何潜在的破坏性信念。
  5. 询问您的孩子下次的解决方案,如果他不能,请提供一些替代方案。
  6. 讨论他的违规行为对其他人(他的兄弟、潜在的其他人、你)的影响。
  7. 感谢他与您分享和解决问题所付出的努力。
  8. 如果你觉得他没有正确理解他的爆发造成的影响,你仍然可以选择对他的违规行为给予相应的处罚。
  9. 当你看到他努力以新的更有效的方式解决问题时,通过表示认可和赞赏来强化这一点。

你不必一直与你的孩子保持一致,但你越经常帮助他理解自己的感受并选择适当的发泄方式,他就越能更好地调节情绪。请继续关注下周的帖子,我将详细介绍并提供有关如何支持您的孩子发展情感智慧的提示。订阅我的时事通讯,了解培养孩子情感智慧的技巧。如果您有任何问题或意见,请发送电子邮件至 yeh.wendy@gmail.com

zh_CN简体中文
分享这个

It’s a typical Wednesday afternoon. You pick up the kids and ask your grade schooler how was his day, he said “fine.” Then at the smallest provocation with his little brother, he started to scream and hit. You focus on his screaming and hitting and reprimand him for his aggressive behavior and missed that this is an unusual over reaction from your child.
Later you’re able to check in with your child and you find out he was excluded on the playground at lunch time. Your child is too young to make the connection from earlier in the day and verbalize why he’s upset.
Maybe you’ve also had a long day and weren’t able to really listen to your son and what was bothering him, what was underneath his quick response. As a result, you missed helping him understand that feeling excluded is horrible; you missed teaching him that kids often excluded for their worries and fears. He did not get a chance to learn proper channels for his earlier playground frustration. All he knows is that if he expresses anger, he will get reprimanded but he will also get attention. When chronically misguided, he might become overly timid at expressing his needs or have anger tantrum when anger becomes overloaded.

All is not lost! Teaching your child emotional regulation takes time but the results are worth it.

What’s the purpose of emotions?

Emotions are instinctual. You’re born equipped with the ability to experience a full range of emotions; from happiness to sadness, from playful to anger, from grateful to shame, from fear to courage; from disgust to love and lust and many more. Happiness feels good and motivates us to reach for it. Anger propels us to do something about being wronged. Fear holds us back from potential danger. Lust drives us toward a potential mate. Guilt teaches us not to repeat the causal behavior again.
Your child is not always clued into the why he feel a certain way, what caused it, and what to do about it. When parents or other loving adults help him understand the causes of his feelings, name the feelings, and assist in developing appropriate response to channel the feelings, your child develop emotional wisdom and resulting emotional regulation.

Regulation doesn’t mean suppression

Regulation means proper channeling of the emotions into its meaningful purpose. Suppression is when expression of feelings are prohibited either through harsh criticism, shaming of the behavior, or neglect. The problem with suppression is that feelings have a purpose; anger propels us to pursue our right, playfulness is motivational, gratefulness increases our inter-connectedness. Feeling help us learn to live our lives with purpose.

What leads to poor emotional wisdom?

When there’s frequent missed attunement, your child will have harder time developing emotional wisdom. In addition, your child might also learn that he’s “bad” child for hitting his brother, a child no one likes because he was “excluded”, and no valued because no one hears and supports him. Those negative beliefs start to chip away his well-being and color the lens he sees the world and further erode future interactions.

So, as parents, how do you help your child develop emotional wisdom and resulting emotional regulations?

  1. Investigate and use your intuition to divine the real cause before reacting.
  2. Help your child make sense of why he is feeling this way.
  3. Empathize with your child’s feelings.
  4. Repair any potential damaging beliefs he might have as a result of his negative experience.
  5. Ask your child for solutions for next time and provide a few alternatives if he cannot.
  6. Discuss the effect of his infraction on other people (his brother, potential others, you).
  7. Appreciate his effort in sharing and problem solving with you.
  8. You might still choose to give him a relevant consequence to the infraction if you feel like he doesn’t properly understand the impact of his outburst.
  9. When you see him making effort to solve problems in new more effective way, reinforce it by showing acknowledgement and appreciations.

You don’t have to be attuned to your child all the time, but the more often you help him make sense of his feelings and choose proper outlet, the better he will be at regulating emotions. Stay tuned for next week’s post where I get into more detail and provide tips on how to support your child in developing emotional wisdom. Sign up for my newsletter for tips on building emotional wisdom in your children.  If you have any questions or comments, please email me at yeh.wendy@gmail.com

en_USEnglish
zh_TW繁體中文 zh_CN简体中文 en_USEnglish
Share This