除非你躲在某個地方,否則你一定聽過「真實的自我」這個詞。快速上網搜尋一下,你會發現了解真實的自我並與真實的自我保持一致生活將使你走向更偉大的使命,給你帶來幸福、滿足,天知道還有什麼好東西!

這一切聽起來確實很棒,但這跟養育孩子有什麼關係呢?簡單的!當你以真實的自我為父母時,你會感覺良好。

你怎麼知道你的教養方式是否是真實的自我?你用你的情緒作為指導。 情緒就像一個晴雨表,可以告訴你是否與真實的自我一致。 當你與真實的自我保持一致時,你會感覺「很好」——你會感受到「流動」。您可能會感到精力充沛、價值觀與行動一致、冷靜且清晰。當你與真實的自我不一致時,你會感到很糟糕——急躁、壓力大、沮喪、憤怒、焦慮、悲傷或羞愧。

等一下;我認為真實的自己其實是卑鄙和暴躁的。我對我的家人很刻薄,經常對我的孩子大喊大叫,對我的配偶或不知疲倦地幫助我照顧孩子的媽媽發脾氣。下次當你發現自己脾氣暴躁時,花點時間承認你的行為與真實的自我不符。深呼吸幾次。問問自己:“現在什麼會讓我感覺良好?”也許是為了忽略正在發生的混亂,邀請媽媽坐下來喝杯茶來解壓。也許是為了讓你的孩子擺脫那些讓他們表現不佳的情況。這可能意味著拔掉網路並出去喝一杯珍珠奶茶。這可能意味著在聚會上提前告別,感到尷尬,但內心深處知道你正在為自己和孩子做出最好的選擇。

當我們這樣做的時候,放下你對成為一個好父母的尷尬和過多的自我評判。你來到世上並不具備與生俱來的養育技能,你的孩子也不是圖畫書中完美的天使,他不會準確地回應無數指南教給你的方式。對自己抱持著一些同情心,並說:「養育孩子是一段旅程,我只是一次一步地踏出一步」。

下次當你和你的孩子發生衝突時,放慢腳步,採取能讓你感受到真實自我的行動。給我發電子郵件,讓我知道進展如何。另外,請訂閱我的時事通訊,以獲取有關適應真實自我的提示。如果您有任何問題或意見,請發送電子郵件至 yeh.wendy@gmail.com

zh_TW繁體中文
分享這個

Unless you have been holed up somewhere, you have heard of the term “authentic self”. Do a quick web search, you will find that knowing your authentic self and living in alignment with your authentic self will move you toward your greater calling, bring you happiness, fulfillment, and God knows what other good stuff!

It all sounds really wonderful, but what does that have to do with parenting? Simple! When you parent from your authentic self, you will feel good about it.

How do you know if you’re parenting from your authentic-self? You use your emotions as the guide. Emotions are like a barometer that tells you whether you’re in alignment or out of alignment with your authentic self. When you are in alignment with your authentic self, you feel “good” – you feel the “flow”. You might feel energized, consistent between your values and your actions, calm, and clear. When you are not in alignment with your authentic self, you feel crappy – edgy, stressed out, frustrated, angry, anxious, sad or ashamed.

Wait a minute; I think my authentic self is actually mean and crabby. I am mean to my family, often yelling at my kids, snapping at my spouse or my mom who tirelessly help me out with my children. Next time you notice that you’re being crabby, take a moment and acknowledge that you’re not acting in alignment with your authentic self. Take a few deep breaths. Ask yourself: “what would make me feel good right now?” Perhaps it is to ignore the chaos going on, and invite your mom to sit down for a cup of tea and decompress. Perhaps it is to take your children out of the situations that are making them act out. It might mean unplugging the internet and going out for a bubble tea. It might mean saying good bye early at a party, feeling embarrassed but knowing deep down inside you’re making the best choice for yourself and your children in the moment.

While we are at it, let go of the embarrassment and the plethora of self-judgement you have about being a good parent. You aren’t put on the earth with innate skills of parenting and your child isn’t some picture book perfect angel who will respond exactly how the myriads of guidebooks teach you. Have some compassion for yourself and say: “parenting is a journey and I am just taking it one step at a time”.

Next time you and your child get into a conflict, slow down and go with what action will allow you to feel like your authentic self. Email me and let me know how it goes. Also, sign up for my newsletter for tips on getting attuned to your authentic-self.  If you have any questions or comments, please email me at yeh.wendy@gmail.com

Share This