您拥有良好的职业生涯,并且通常会得到同事和管理层的出色绩效评价。但有时你会遇到一个有问题的项目,或者最终与一个具有挑战性的团队合作,这会让你害怕工作并拖延你的交付成果。当挑战似乎永无止境时,您开始质疑自己的执行能力以及自己是否适合这份工作。

您如何保持对自己的信心并专注于可交付成果?今天,我将分享一些心态,帮助你应对工作中的挑战甚至挫折。

  1. 自我反省
    首先要知道的是,挫折和挑战是成功职业生涯的正常组成部分。仅仅因为你现在正在经历严峻的挑战或最近似乎难以克服的项目挫折,并不意味着你是一个失败者。这意味着这是您成长和从这段经历中学习的机会。改变你的语言,将其称为成长机会,而不是挫折或失败。为了克服自我怀疑,请记住您克服挑战并取得令您感到自豪的成果的另一次经历。回忆一下你当时的心态,回忆一下你当时的感受,回忆一下你在这份工作中最自豪的是什么。当时您可能也克服了一些挑战。你是如何克服它的以及你如何从这段经历中成长?如果您还有其他令您感到自豪的项目,请将它们写在时间表中,并了解您过去遇到过的许多挑战,而这些挑战是职业发展的一部分。
  2. 分离
    与你在工作中遇到的挑战建立情感距离和逻辑清晰度。在你手里拿着的玻璃盒子里想象你的工作挑战。把关键人物放进去。把项目放进去。将目标、可交付成果和动态也放入其中。想象一下你从外面看玻璃盒子。您可以清楚地看到谁是玩家以及他们对工作的贡献。想象你手里拿着的玻璃盒子里的困难情况会给你带来情感上的距离,这样你就能以新的眼光看到挑战和成长机会。当您想象玻璃盒子及其内容物时,您会意识到您可以在不投入情感的情况下应对这一挑战。如果您在进行可视化时能够保持警惕,请尝试将其带到下一步,就如何利用这一增长机会提出新的想法。如果您需要帮助,请给我打电话安排预约。
  3. 重新构建你的处境
    你有全有或全无的观点吗?您是否对自己说您所有的项目都很糟糕并且没有人重视您的投入?您能否重新表述一下,目前该项目由于……原因而具有挑战性?您是否认为有时需要多次重复您的信息或在正确的时间与正确的人交谈才能被听到?
  4. 可视化
    想象一下什么样的人会在这种情况下茁壮成长。如果您能想到一个您非常熟悉的受人尊敬的榜样,想象一下她/他将如何处理正在发生的事情。接受那个人的能量、态度、说话方式、立场,然后把你自己想象成那个人。当你体现你的榜样时,看看你是否能更轻松地看待你的挑战。
  5. 眼动减敏与历程更新治疗
    如果您很难将失败的项目视为成长机会,并且已经让您对自己的能力产生了真正的怀疑,您也可以考虑去看像我这样的 EMDR 治疗师,他可以帮助您减少怀疑并对自己更有信心。 EMDR 有助于减少与压力事件相关的情绪困扰,并可以减少表现障碍和焦虑。 在此处阅读有关 EMDR 的更多信息.
  6. 自理

最后,请记住,当您照顾好自己的健康时,您对工作中困难情况的能力和容忍度会更高。照顾好您的健康意味着:
A。 睡眠规律,睡眠充足;
。尽量减少饮酒、娱乐性药物、咖啡因和糖;
C。吃天然蔬菜、水果、全谷物和蛋白质均衡的健康膳食;
d。进行日常锻炼——每天将心率提高到有氧区 15-60 分钟,会让您拥有更光明的前景、建立自信并改善情绪。如果您有任何健康问题,请咨询您的医生以获得锻炼许可;
e。与亲人保持联系。与亲人保持联系和亲近可以减轻您的压力,并为您的生活带来意义;
F。如果您有任何潜在的疾病症状,请去看医生并接受治疗。

如果您在实施上述技巧方面需要帮助,或者需要更多想法或帮助来创造您感到成功的职业生涯,请致电 650-397-1376 或发送电子邮件至 yeh.wendy@gmail.com 与我联系。在我的后续博客中,我将与您分享有关培养沟通技巧的技巧,以便更有效地与具有挑战性的同事和管理层合作。注册我的博客,阅读我未来关于职业、人际关系和个人成长的著作。

zh_CN简体中文
分享这个

You have a good career and usually get a stellar performance review from your peers and management. But sometimes you get on a questionable project or end up working with a challenging team that makes you dread work and stalls your deliverables. When the challenges seem unending you start to question your ability to perform and whether you are the right fit for the job.

How do you keep your confidence in yourself and keep focus on deliverables? Today, I will share some mindsets that help you get through challenges or even setback in your work.

  1. Self-Reflection
    First thing to know is that setbacks and challenges are normal part of successful career. Just because you’re experiencing tough challenges now or a recent project setbacks that seems tough to overcome, it doesn’t mean that you are a failure. It means this is your opportunity to grow and learn from this experience. Change your language and calling it a growth opportunity instead of setback or failures. To overcome your self-doubt, remember another time when you overcame challenges and delivered results that you’re proud of. Remember the mindset you had at the time, recall the feelings you had at that time, and what you were most proud of out of that work. You probably overcame some challenges back then too. How did you overcome it and how you have grown from that experience? If you have other projects that you are proud of, write them down in a time-line and see that you have had many challenges in the past and that challenges are part of growing career.
  2. Separation
    Create emotional distance and logical clarity with the challenges you are experiencing at work. Visualize your work challenge in a glass box that you’re holding in your hand. Put the key players in it. Put the project in it. Put the goals, deliverable, and dynamics in it too. Imagine yourself looking from the outside into the glass box. You can clearly see who are the players and their contributions to the work. Visualizing difficult situations in a glass box that you hold in your hand gives you an emotional distance so you can see the challenge and growth opportunity with fresh eyes. As you visualize the glass box with its content, become aware that you can work with this challenge without getting emotionally involved. If you can stay mindful while you do the visualization, try taking it to the next step of coming up with a fresh idea on how to work with this growth opportunity. If you need help doing that, please give me a call to schedule an appointment.
  3. Reframe Your Situation
    Do you have an all or nothing perspective? Do you say to yourself that all of your projects suck and that no one values your input? Can you re-frame that to say that at the moment, this project is challenging because of ….. reasons? Could you consider that sometimes it takes repeating your message a lot or talking to the right person at the right moment to be heard?
  4. Visualization
    Imagining what kind of person would thrive in this situation. If you can think of a respected role model you know pretty well, imagine how she/he would handle what’s going on. Take on that person’s energy, attitude, way of talking, stance, and just imagine yourself as that person. As you embodied your role model, see if you can find more ease at looking at your challenge.
  5. EMDR Therapy
    If you are having a hard time seeing a failed project as growth opportunity and has already gotten you really doubtful of your ability, you might also consider seeing an EMDR therapist, like me, who can help you reduce your doubt and feel more confident in yourself. EMDR helps by reducing the emotional distressed related to a stressful event and can diminish performance blocks and anxiety. Read more about EMDR here.
  6. Self-Care

Lastly, remember that when you’re taking good care of your health you have a lot more ability and tolerance for difficult situations at work. Taking good care of your health means:
a. Sleep regularly and sleep enough;
b. Minimize alcohol, recreation drugs, caffeine, and sugar;
c. Have healthy meals with a good balance of natural vegetables, fruits, whole grains, and protein;
d. Get daily exercise – raising your heart rate to an aerobic zone for 15-60 minutes/day will give you a brighter outlook, build confidence, and improve your mood. Check with your doctor to get an okay to exercise if you have any health concerns;
e. Stay connected to loved ones. Connecting and being close to loved ones reduces your stress and brings meaning to your life;
f. If you have any potential illness symptoms, go see a doctor and get treated.

If you need help implementing the above tips, or would like more ideas or help in creating a career that you feel successful in, please give me a call at 650-397-1376 or email at yeh.wendy@gmail.com. In my follow-on blog, I will share with you tips on building communication skills to work more effectively with challenging peers and management. Sign up for my blogs to read my future writings on career, relationships, and personal growth.

Share This